Make Over Your Mornings – Day 5 Blog Along

Image from makeoveryourmornings.com

Image from makeoveryourmornings.com

Good morning! If you’ve been with us from Day 1, welcome back! I’m so proud of you for continuing on! If you haven’t snagged a copy yet, it’s not too late to get yours and join us! Head on over to Make Over Your Mornings to get yours now. The workbook that comes with it is invaluable – not to mention the personal videos you get to watch each day featuring Money Saving Mom‘s very own Crystal Paine. You can find Day 1’s Blog Along post here to catch up. And if you’re looking for a testimony to how wonderful this program works, you can find mine here.

Have your copy and ready to start changing your life? LET’S GO!

Goal setting can really make or break your success. I can’t tell you how many thousands of times throughout my life I’ve set goals only to wind up disappointed and feeling like an utter failure when I didn’t meet them. It’s an area I’m still working on and have a long way to go, but I’m finally on the right track thanks to this course!

You see, whenever I’d set goals, I didn’t just set three or four in one area. I’d set twenty or thirty. Multiply that by the ten different areas I was setting goals in, and I had made myself a whopper of a road paved for failure. We all have good intentions, and we all have areas in our lives we need to set goals for. We just have to be able to set those goals in a manner that allows us the opportunity to succeed instead of setting them in a way that has us wanting to give up before we’ve even started. And then, we need to evaluate those goals on a regular basis because our lives and situations are ever-changing, and thus our goals need to evolve as well.

Day 5 - How Setting Goals Can Change Your Life

Although I’ve already gone through this course, I looked at this exercise with fresh eyes and began anew. Just like figuring out what my “big rocks” should be, figuring out realistic and focused goal setting has been a trial and error process. I am determined to become a successful goal maker so that I can be a successful goal achiever! The chart above shows my four areas of priority along with some specific goals for each one. Being able to see the basis of my goals on one page feels incredible and so much more achievable than having a notebook full!

Crystal mentioned talking over your goals with your spouse and asking for their input. I’ll admit, when I first went through this course, I kept my goals to myself. I was so used to setting goals that never came to fruition that I was honestly afraid to share any of my new goals with my husband for fear of those failures becoming clear to him as well. Looking back, I think sharing those goals would’ve been in my best interest.

The reason to share your goals with someone – be it your spouse, close friend or family member, someone from your church group – is because it is a good way to keep yourself accountable. If you tell your spouse that you’re going to quit drinking pop, you’re much more likely to follow through with it because if you don’t, it’s more than just you that knows you didn’t succeed.

I’ll be back here later with an update on how my goals talk goes with Brandon!

I’ll also be back here tomorrow with my experiences and thoughts from Day Six! And don’t forget, if you still haven’t gotten your hands on a copy of the Make Over Your Mornings e-course, you can do that here.

What goals are you looking towards? Were you able to pair down your items to two or three per Area of Priority?

UPDATE:

I’ve got to say, gearing up to talk over my goals with my husband this time was sweat-inducing. So many thoughts went through my mind all day as I built up the courage to sit down with him when he got home from work. I worried that I’d share my goals with him only to wind up failing and seeing that reflected through his eyes. I was concerned that he might not necessarily have any interest in goal sharing considering it’s something we’ve never done or even talked about before. But, I sucked it up and realized that going into it with a negative outlook was only going to produce negative results. If you want to produce positive results, you have to go at it with a positive mind.

I sent Brandon a text during the day that I would like to sit down and discuss some items with him when he got home from work. Being intentional about holding myself to the discussion by sending that text was something I knew I needed to do in order to keep myself accountable.

After he was home from work, we sat down and had the discussion. I started off explaining what it was I was looking for. I needed an accountability partner that would also be there for support and encouragement. He was more than happy to help. I told him I needed to re-visit my goals on a very regular basis to keep them at the forefront as well as keeping me motivated to following through. We talked about it and settled on having a weekly meeting to see how things were progressing in each category. Brandon suggested Wednesday nights, and we set 8:15 as the time. That way, the kids are in bed at 8, I plan my next day until 8:10, and then at 8:15 we meet to review my goals and progression.

I loved that he jumped on board and even became a part of the conversation by offering what day would work best for him and attaching a time to it! He even voiced his opinion about one of the items “Offer date night/grocery trip babysitting”. He wasn’t all that enthused at the idea of me giving up my weekend evenings – time that we could be going on trips or doing things together solely as a family. We discussed other options, I did some brainstorming, and I came up with offering sewing classes a few times a month. Being able to openly discuss and throw ideas around with each other is such a great opportunity for growth for the both of us. I am already looking forward to our next meeting this coming Wednesday at 8:15 at night!

5 thoughts on “Make Over Your Mornings – Day 5 Blog Along

  1. This is kind of a tough one for me! I have certain areas where I would like to focus on spiritual, marriage, health, and finances. I am still trying to just limit two goals for each which is hard for me because I can think of 10 for each one! I will trying working on it again 🙂

    Like

    • It is SO hard to keep it to a minimum! I often struggle with the same thing because I want it all done, and I want it done NOW. Haha I listed an idea for combating this very issue on Day 6’s post. I hope that helps you!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Make Over Your Mornings – Day 6 Blog Along | Expressions By Red

  3. I tried to work the program during the weekend, but it is the only time we have family time with my husband. So I will be doubling up for a couple of days to make up for those days. I have some ideas for narrowing down my goals for each category, but I will more time to finalize. The categories are similar to yours minus business which is replaced by job search. I recently graduated from college this past August after going back two years ago. The job search has been tough, but that was expected. I also added household as a category because, while I was college a lot of things were put on the back burner.

    Like

    • Congratulations on the graduation! And don’t worry about the weekend. That’s the beauty of this course is that it works for all different walks of life! I’m still needing to sit down and go through the process for the rest of my goals, which I plan to do this week. I’d also like to add another category for myself because I know I tend to neglect that category if I don’t consciously make an effort. One of the things I’ve been wanting to do is sew for myself. I always sew for the kids, but focusing that time to build a waning closet will be valuable to me, so that’s something that will go into that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

