Summer Inspiration for Winter Comfort

Apple Loungewear Remix and Imagine Jacket

February’s Project Run and Play challenge is the Mademoiselle Muscle Tee by Susan from Living With Punks. When you participate in the challenge, you can sew it up as is, change it up a bit, or simply draw inspiration from it. I chose the latter of the three options this month.

Although we aren’t in the NE states and digging ourselves out of mountains of snow (I feel for ya guys!), it’s still extremely cold here. While I think the muscle tee version would’ve come in super handy this summer, we still have a ways to go, so I figured I’d stick with something that could be worn now.

When I think of kids in muscle tees, it makes me think of comfort on the edge of coolness. So, instead of summer comfort, I looked at winter comfort and went with the Apple Loungewear top from Shwin and Shwin. I changed it up a bit: made it a raglan, kept the sleeve cuffs longer, made the neckband wider, and – out of sheer happenstance – shortened the bodice length. I used my Silhouette to cut out the “Best Friends” heart from a gold iron-on sheet to complete the top.

Apple Loungewear Top

Overall, I love the way the top turned out. It was exactly what I was looking for. And for taking pictures in bitter cold, Miss P was definitely all for the warmth and comfort it provides! The bodice and arm cuffs are from a cotton interlock, and the sleeves and neckband were from a rayon of sorts that I found just enough of in the scrap bundle bin at Hancock’s.

I originally thought to do the waistband in the rayon black and white print, thought better of it, told myself to stick with the plan, and sewed it up. Then, I realized it didn’t have the look I wanted, but at 1:30 am the night before the challenge deadline arrives, what’s one to do? Oh, press your garment to make it look nice, right?! Yeah, well, from a combination of exhaustion and still recovering from being sick this ENTIRE month, I forgot that I had the iron on the hottest setting.

melted waistband

Que melted waistband here. Yikes. I unplugged the iron, turned off the lights, and went to bed. This morning, I awoke with a fresh perspective, cut the waistband off (thus the unintended shortened bodice), and sewed on a waistband from the last little bit of cotton interlock I had left. Just the look I was going for. Turns out, every time I have a major mishap while sewing, it ends up being for the best in the long run. Perspective. 😉

Imagine Jacket

I sewed up an Imagine Jacket also by Shwin and Shwin (I must’ve been on a Shwin kick, huh?!) to go along with it. First jacket ever. First welt pockets ever. First collar ever. And only second zipper. 😉 I am in love! I’ll be going into further detail on the jacket in a later post, but just know this: It was created from a sheet, 2 pillow cases, and a tank top! Seriously! Had I not been sick for Kids Clothes Week, I would’ve jumped at sewing this up then. Talk about a refashion! I’ll just leave you with some pics to enjoy until the jacket post comes along your way.

Imagine Jacket lining Imagine Jacket Waistband Imagine Jacket shoulder detail

5 thoughts on “Summer Inspiration for Winter Comfort

    • Aww thanks so much! I bought it around the time it first came out and just hadn’t gotten to it until now. So glad I did! Now, I’m going to do one up for my 4 yr old boy. It’s a phenomenal pattern!

      Like

Leave a Reply

